There are so many "evildoers" in the www please do not respond to any email
that you are not expecting or tells you to log into something using your ssn or
password unless you check with the company asking you to do this first.... for
ex: your bank emails you and tells you to update something.... CALL YOUR BANK to
make sure... companies are not going to ask you to these things per email...
EBAY a major source of stolen identity.... you will not get email from ebay to
change anything they will send it to your ebay account only.... you should
respond to any unfamiliar or unsure email by forwarding them to
spoof@ebay.com
OrgName: RIPE Network Coordination Centre
OrgID: RIPE
Address: P.O. Box 10096
City: Amsterdam
StateProv:
PostalCode: 1001EB
Country: NL
ReferralServer: whois://whois.ripe.net:43
NetRange: 62.0.0.0 - 62.255.255.255
CIDR: 62.0.0.0/8
NetName: RIPE-C3
NetHandle: NET-62-0-0-0-1
Parent:
NetType: Allocated to RIPE NCC
NameServer: NS-PRI.RIPE.NET
NameServer: SEC1.APNIC.NET
NameServer: SEC3.APNIC.NET
NameServer: NS2.NIC.FR
NameServer: SUNIC.SUNET.SE
NameServer: AUTH03.NS.UU.NET
NameServer: TINNIE.ARIN.NET
Comment: These addresses have been further assigned to users in
Comment: the RIPE NCC region. Contact information can be found in
Comment: the RIPE database at
http://www.ripe.net/whois
RegDate: 1997-04-25
Updated: 2004-03-16
# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2005-02-16 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
Ripe Networks in Amsterdam. This could be something that Ripe does for a
living or it could have come from a machine that didn't have good anti-virus
and firewall programs installed and is being used without the owner's
knowledge. Either way, you'd have given your credit card and who knows what
else to some very bad people.
Just to show you a bit more about how all of this works:
is the same as:
You'll notice that this is the same site. Remember that anyone can build a
site that LOOKS like eBay or any other site on the internet. If you aren't
absolutely sure that the message is valid email or call the owner of the site.
Many banks, especially the bigger ones, also have scams like this that look
like the note is coming from them. If you have filled out any forms even
remotely like any of this be SURE to CANCEL all of your credit cards, change
your bank account numbers, tie up your dog and you should probably move too.
Seriously, at the very least you should contact all of your credit card
companies and your bank and ask them what to do to protect yourself from any
unauthorized use of your accounts.
I hope this keeps more of you safe!
----- Original Message -----
Sent: Tuesday, February 17, 2004 12:25 PM
Subject: New Year User Agreement Update
eBay NewYears User Agreement Update
It's that time of year again! With 2005 now upon us, we have updated the eBay
user agreement. As a result of the update, your account will be restricted until
you have followed the link below and reconfirmed your contractual agreement with
eBay. We apologize for any inconvience as a result of the update, but as a large
e-commerce entity we are required to receive an updated agreement at the
beginning of each year.
After agreeing to the contract linked below, please feel free to check out some
of the new auction styles for 2005. eBay now features pre-set auction details
making selling easier than ever! Simply have eBay find your item, and it will
present you with a preset information block regarding your product.
Here at eBay, we are constantly working harder to make your auctions this year
better then ever. We will be continuously adding features to improve your eBay
experience like never before, and your eBay account is a first row seat to the
action! So dont let your account expire, update your settings today, its a
simple process, and will only take a few moments. All accounts not verified by
February 28, 2005, will be subject to removal, and it may be required to
register again to continue using eBay services.
To update your account now, please follow the link below, validate your
information, and verify your acceptance of the updated agreement.
https://signin.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?UpdateAgreement
Copyright © 2004 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
eBay and the eBay logo are trademarks of eBay Inc.
eBay is located at 2145 Hamilton Avenue, San Jose, CA 95125.
E-Mail
Odessa Office Equipment -P.O. Box 489 - Odessa Wa -99159
Office hours ~9:00am - 3:00pm (509) 982-2181
Thank you for your business | |