ARTICLE VII Ratification

Ratification. The ratification of the conventions of nine states shall be sufficient for the establishment of this constitution between states so ratifying the same. Done in Convention, By the unanimous consent of the states present, the seventeenth day of September, in the year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and eighty-seven, and of the independence of the United States of America the twelfth. In Witness Whereof, We have hereunto subscribed our names: GEO. WASHINGTON, President, and Deputy from Virginia

New Hampshire: John Langdon, Nicholas Gilman.

Connecticut: Wm. Samuel Johnson, Roger Sherman.

New York: Alexander Hamilton.

New Jersey: William Livingston, David Brearley, William Paterson, Jonathan Dayton.

Pennsylvania: Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Mifflin, Robert Morris, George Clymer, Thomas Fitzsimons, Jared Ingersoll, James Wilson, Gouverneur Morris.

Massachusetts: Nathaniel Gorham, Rufus King.

Delaware: Geo. Read, Gunning Bedford, Jr. John Dickinson, Richard Bassett, Jacob Broom.

Maryland: James McHenry, Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer, Daniel Carroll.

Virginia: John Blair, James Madison, Jr.

North Carolina: William Blount, Richard Dobbs Speight, Hugh Williamson.

South Carolina: John Rutledge, C. Cotesworth Pinckney, Charles Pinckney, Pierce Butler.

Georgia: William Few, Abraham Baldwin.

Attest: WILLIAM JACKSON, Secretary.