Spam/Spoof Email

Spam in your inbox can be reported.... If you use our wonderful Postini program you might notice a few spam emails come into your inbox.  Just forward those to spam@postini.com and that will help them better their program.  If you would like to sign up for Postini or need more info please call OOE @ 982-2181.

Spoof-

There are so many "evildoers" in the www please do not respond to any email that you are not expecting or tells you to log into something using your ssn or password unless you check with the company asking you to do this first.... for ex: your bank emails you and tells you to update something.... CALL YOUR BANK to make sure... companies are not going to ask you to these things per email... EBAY a major source of stolen identity.... you will not get email from ebay to change anything they will send it to your ebay account only.... you should respond to any unfamiliar or unsure email by forwarding them to spoof@ebay.com

Here is details on how they send these spoof scam emails to you~

What we see here is a notice sent to me (below) with a notice to do something at what looks like eBay's site.  When you dig out where it's REALLY sending you once you click on the button (above) it's not really eBay.  The part in red is the tip off.  The numbers 62.193.211.172 is where this is really going to be sent.  The "%3A" is computer talk for ":" and the "%2F" is computer talk for "/".  So this really reads http://62.193.211.172.  I've made the links un-clickable so that you won't mistakenly go to one.
 
Clicking on the link below would have really sent you to the address above.  And that belongs to:

OrgName:    RIPE Network Coordination Centre
OrgID:      RIPE
Address:    P.O. Box 10096
City:       Amsterdam
StateProv: 
PostalCode: 1001EB
Country:    NL
 
ReferralServer: whois://whois.ripe.net:43
 
NetRange:   62.0.0.0 - 62.255.255.255
CIDR:       62.0.0.0/8
NetName:    RIPE-C3
NetHandle:  NET-62-0-0-0-1
Parent:    
NetType:    Allocated to RIPE NCC
NameServer: NS-PRI.RIPE.NET
NameServer: SEC1.APNIC.NET
NameServer: SEC3.APNIC.NET
NameServer: NS2.NIC.FR
NameServer: SUNIC.SUNET.SE
NameServer: AUTH03.NS.UU.NET
NameServer: TINNIE.ARIN.NET
Comment:    These addresses have been further assigned to users in
Comment:    the RIPE NCC region. Contact information can be found in
Comment:    the RIPE database at http://www.ripe.net/whois
RegDate:    1997-04-25
Updated:    2004-03-16
 
# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2005-02-16 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
 
Ripe Networks in Amsterdam.  This could be something that Ripe does for a living or it could have come from a machine that didn't have good anti-virus and firewall programs installed and is being used without the owner's knowledge.  Either way, you'd have given your credit card and who knows what else to some very bad people.
 
Just to show you a bit more about how all of this works:
www.odessaoffice.com  (this link will work and is safe)
is the same as:
http://64.146.146.7 (also working and safe)
 
You'll notice that this is the same site.  Remember that anyone can build a site that LOOKS like eBay or any other site on the internet.  If you aren't absolutely sure that the message is valid email or call the owner of the site.
 
Many banks, especially the bigger ones, also have scams like this that look like the note is coming from them.  If you have filled out any forms even remotely like any of this be SURE to CANCEL all of your credit cards, change your bank account numbers, tie up your dog and you should probably move too.  Seriously, at the very least you should contact all of your credit card companies and your bank and ask them what to do to protect yourself from any unauthorized use of your accounts.
 
I hope this keeps more of you safe!
Marlon
(509) 982-2181                                   Equipment sales
(408) 907-6910 (Vonage)                    Consulting services
42846865 (icq)                                    And I run my own wisp!
64.146.146.12 (net meeting)
www.odessaoffice.com/wireless
www.odessaoffice.com/marlon/cam
 
 
----- Original Message -----
From: eBay Verification
To: ooe@odessaoffice.com
Sent: Tuesday, February 17, 2004 12:25 PM
Subject: New Year User Agreement Update

 


eBay NewYears User Agreement Update

It's that time of year again! With 2005 now upon us, we have updated the eBay user agreement. As a result of the update, your account will be restricted until you have followed the link below and reconfirmed your contractual agreement with eBay. We apologize for any inconvience as a result of the update, but as a large e-commerce entity we are required to receive an updated agreement at the beginning of each year.

After agreeing to the contract linked below, please feel free to check out some of the new auction styles for 2005. eBay now features pre-set auction details making selling easier than ever! Simply have eBay find your item, and it will present you with a preset information block regarding your product.

Here at eBay, we are constantly working harder to make your auctions this year better then ever. We will be continuously adding features to improve your eBay experience like never before, and your eBay account is a first row seat to the action! So dont let your account expire, update your settings today, its a simple process, and will only take a few moments. All accounts not verified by February 28, 2005, will be subject to removal, and it may be required to register again to continue using eBay services.

To update your account now, please follow the link below, validate your information, and verify your acceptance of the updated agreement.

     https://signin.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?UpdateAgreement

 


Copyright © 2004 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
eBay and the eBay logo are trademarks of eBay Inc.
eBay is located at 2145 Hamilton Avenue, San Jose, CA 95125.